Japanese character notes

This page lists characters in the following Unicode blocks and more and gathers information about them from various sources.

See also the companion document, Japanese, for a summary of the Japanese script and its use for the Japanese language.

Phonetic transcriptions should be treated as an approximate guide, only. Many are more phonemic than phonetic, and there may be variations depending on the source of the transcription.

Related pages.
Other character notes.
About this page


Halfwidth & Fullwidth Forms

CJK Punctuation

General Punctuation


The following people have provided helpful advice.